Home > "Run", Buddy, Choreography, In Progress > Phrase Comparison

Phrase Comparison

January 16, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Below is a clip of a phrase that I taught to my all male, and all female casts. It’s interesting how bodies deal with momentum and weight differently, regardless of gender affiliation. Also,  notice how each cast emphasized particular movements, particularly the jump. I’m not stating that all male dancers move alike and all female dancers move alike; it is not my objective to generate a commonality among male and female bodies. Instead, I’m interested in the choreographic atmosphere that is formed when you separate genders in a process, while maintaining the same material, and how movement can have different connotations on male and female bodies.

Rashana Smith, a fellow MFA student,  is doing an independent study regarding gender in choreography and is participating in the all male cast rehearsals for her research. Check out her link for more info on her approach and experiences in the process.

Below is a clip of both casts learning the material the for the first time.

  1. January 20, 2010 at 10:13 am

    This is a beautiful phrase, beyond the sexy unison. There is such a three-dimensionality to the movement, to its addressing of the space. “Front” seems always changing, especially for the dancers who are taking their focus with them in the changing fronts. And maybe I’m reading into it because it’s labeled “Offense Phrase,” but it gives me a sense of establishing a perimeter of attention, as if to suggest that there is no direction that is beyond the awareness of the dancer, and throughout the phrase she/he makes his/her way around that perimeter to assert that awareness.
    It provokes questions about something like boundaries (and even as I typed that I remembered that the piece is entitled “Chalk Boundaries;” I can be a little slow). Personal boundaries, gender boundaries, the limitations of our notions of gender, sex, sexuality, personal identity, attention, physicality, ability, etc. The rigor with which we may or may not maintain those boundaries, the energy spent on delineating, defining, separating, keeping clear what is both inside and outside of those boundaries. And how those boundaries relate, collide, overlap and possibly dissolve . . .
    I remember there being some partnering in the other clip that you posted. It makes me curious how you approach those moments, and how they might relate to these “established perimeters.”
    I also remember people sitting and watching, and it makes me think of the boundaries between what is seen and what is unseen, how gaze reinforces or subverts systems of distinctions/differentiation/separation/etc.
    I wonder about questions like, “How is the body itself indicative of a boundary? Is it a permeable or impermeable boundary, this body? And how might it move in order to demonstrate/elucidate its potential condition as a boundary?”

    Those are my murky morning thoughts as I finally made my way through my “Blog Surfer” feed.
    Keep up the good work; I can’t wait to see it.
    -M

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

