Home > "Run", In Progress > New Process in a New Space!

New Process in a New Space!

November 1, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

WeCanDoItPoster[1]

Starting out my choreographic process was fairly difficult. Entering into a new environment and not knowing protocol on many things made me feel rather insecure. Luckily I was able to find three beautiful dancers to work with (Stephanie, Loganne, and Fiona). After the first rehearsal I realized something. I’m no longer at Wesleyan. This is a new dance world and I’m not sure how to approach it. Nothing is wrong with this space, but it’s just different. The difference though excites me. The difference is unlocking new possibilities in my choreographic voice.

This poster was always interesting to me and has become the foundation of my choreographic process. I’m interested in how bodies are “remodeled” to fit the necessity for our culture and I want to take this idea and roll with it in my choreographic process.

In terms of movement I want to work more on challenging myself to find a balance between collaboration and giving movement material. I feel that sometimes dancers have this idea that collaboration means “stealing my moves” but I don’t think that’s always the case. I collaborate because the dancers that I work with are artists. They’re creative, intelligent movers and I would almost feel as if I were silencing them if I gave them movement all the time.

Categories: "Run", In Progress Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

